Self Portrait

These pictures I feel represent me and describe my personality.

The first picture is a picture of my dog Ludo when he was 2 weeks old. He has shaped my life and helped me see things in a way way because a few weeks after this picture was taken, Ludo was diagnosed with Parvo. He was on the brink of death. He was slowly dying in front of me and I couldn’t do anything to help him because I couldn’t afford the veterinarian bill. Ludo was so sick and weak. He didn’t eat or drink or even walk. He couldn’t even pick up his head without help. I had to research on how to save him. I called multiple animal clinics hoping that a nurse would be nice enough to tell me about a home remedy or a place that would have a lower veterinary bill. Luckily, I finally got a hold of a nurse that wanted to help. She told me that mixing pedialyte and water or gatorade and water will help him due to getting the sodium back in his system. I had to force the water into his mouth since he couldn’t drink on his own. I did that all day long until he was starting to gain his strength back. I had to work hard and long to save his life. Saving him showed me how precious life is and to cherish every moment.

Next, is a picture of Deadpool. I love comic books, Deadpool is my favorite. Comics have helped me feel like I’m not alone in the world. The characters go through similar things that I do and they help me know that everything is going to be ok. I have used what I learned from comics to help others in similar situations. I always want to help others no matter what theyre going through. I want to let them know that theyre not alone.

Say No To Drugs. Say Yes To Tacos. Thats pretty self explanatory.

I took a picture of an anime show, udon noodles, and green tea. This represents how Japan and the Japanese culture have shaped my personality. Anime has influenced me the same way that comic books did. The anime culture is so inviting and accepting of everyone that its helped me come out of my shell and has encouraged me to be open and get others out of their shell as well.

The picture of Craig Sager and I represents my love for basketball. My dad raised me to play the sport and it has instilled discipline and hard work into my life.

Next, is a picture I took of Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino at SXSW in Austin, Texas. His music changed my personality. He showed me that being weird and being a nerd is a good thing. The stories he tells in his music are stories that are similar to mine. Embracing your weirdness is what he taught me.

The picture of a conversation with Socrates represents how books and philosophy have shaped me. Philosophy has expanded my mind and has shown me different ways to think about life.

Star Wars for me is basically the same it is for many others. Its a culture. Its a community. Its a movie that shows us hard work and trust. The picture has the characters from the movie with turntables to incorporate m love for music.

Beer and empanadas. Need I say more? Food and drinks have a major impact on my life. Since I was a kid, Ive been surrounded with food. My family loves cooking and loves cooking together. No matter how mad we may be at each other, food always brings us together.

Finally, a screenshot of a song by Musiq Soulchild. Musiq has helped me learn to embrace all beauty. Ive been picked on since I was born because of my birthmarks and never really had any positivity to change my way of thinking. Musiq’s lyrics speaks to me. It tells me to embrace myself and be proud of who I am inside and out.

Leave a Reply

